المكتبة الليبرالية 


أرشيف المكتبة
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
مناقشة الحرية الاقتصادية (والسياسية) في القاهرة

بقلم رونالد مايناردوس


نحتفل هذا العام بالعيد العشرين لتوحيد ألمانيا، فبجانب تحقيقه لوحدة وحرية الشعب الألماني يرمز هذا الحدث التاريخي بالتحديد إلى نهاية المواجهة العالمية بين ما كان يُعرف آنذاك بالغرب والشرق. وبالفعل وصل هذا الصراع إلى نهايته بنصر محقق للنموذج الليبرالي.

ومنذ ذلك الحين تحولت معظم بلدان أوربا الشرقية وفي جنوب شرق أوروبا إلى بلدان تتمتع بالديمقراطية السياسية تتبع مبادئ اقتصاد السوق في إستراتيجياتها التنموية. وكان النصر الأيديولوجي للنموذج الليبرالي العملي منذ قرابة العشرين عاماً كاسحاً لدرجة أن البعض سارع بالقول بأن البشرية وصلت "إلى نهاية التاريخ." وعلى الرغم من أن هذه الفرضية المتسرعة أثبتت عدم صحتها بل "وعدم تاريخيتها" أكثر من مرة، فإن انهيار الشيوعية يظل بدون شك حدثاً تاريخياً له ما له من تبعات ودروس مستفادة بالنسبة للعديد من بلدان العالم.

حضرني كل هذا أثناء استماعي للعرض المقدم من الأستاذ الجامعي البولندي الذي قدمه بالمؤتمر الخامس عن الحرية الاقتصادية بالعالم العربي المنعقد بالقاهرة في أوائل شهر نوفمبر. ففي عرضه بعنوان "خرائط الإصلاح لأوروبا الشرقية: هل مرت الطرق إلى الازدهار بأرض الحرية الاقتصادية؟" عرض الأستاذ أندريه كوندراتوفيتز بيانات تبين الزيادات الهائلة في الدخل ببلدان أوروبا الشرقية على مدار الأعوام الماضية – وهي الزيادة التي شهدتها قطاعات المجتمع بأسرها. وعلى الرغم من استمرار المشكلات الاجتماعية فإن المجتمعات الأوروبية الشرقية سارت قُدُماً بأسلوب مثير للإعجاب. يتمثل مفتاح هذا التطور وفقاً للباحث الهولندي في "التغيير المؤسسي" العميق. ففي معظم بلدان أوروبا الشرقية هذه التغييرات جاءت مدفوعة برغبة الحكومات في الانضمام إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي، الذي وقف الانضمام كما هو معروف عنه على الالتزام بمعايير اقتصادية وسياسية صارمة على حد سواء. والأهم من ذلك أن تلك الدول الأوروبية في رأي الباحث كوندراتوفيتز التي شهدت أكبر القفزات التنموية هي تلك التي تعكس اليوم درجات عالية بالإحصاءات الدولية التي تقيس الحرية الاقتصادية وهي استونيا والجمهورية السلوفاكية والمجر ولتوانيا.

وتمثل التجربة الأوروبية الشرقية خير دليل على الفرضية الأساسية التي يضعها "مؤشر الحرية الاقتصادية"، إذ يقر التقرير السنوي الذي ينشره في كندا معهد فريزر بالعلاقة المتلازمة بين درجة الحرية الاقتصادية والتنمية ، وهو ما يوثقه التقرير بطريقة تطبيقية عملية. الرسالة مباشرة لا لبس فيها: كلما زادت الحرية الاقتصادية داخل الدولة، زاد النمو الذي تسجله هذه الدولة. يقيس المؤشر درجة الحرية الاقتصادية على خمسة مستويات متميزة: حجم الحكومة، الإطار القانوني والتشريعي وحقوق الملكية، سهولة التمويل، حرية التجارة الدولية، وأخيراً الإطار المنظم للائتمان والعمالة والنشاط التجاري. الأقطار التي تأتي أعلى قائمة المؤشر هي ذات البلدان الغنية، وذلك على المستوى الدولي، في حين تجد البلدان الأفقر نفسها في ذيل القائمة، ومن بين الدول التي تتصدر القائمة في سنة 2010 نجوم الاقتصاد على شاكلة هونج كونج وسنغافورة ونيوزلندة وسويسرا وتشيلي، في حين نجد أسفل القائمة دول مثل زيمبابوي وميانمار وأنجولا وفنزويلا.

على مدار السنوات الثلاثة الأخيرة شاركت المؤسسة التي أترأس أعمالها في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا مع معهد فريزر بكندا ومع مؤسسة البحوث الدولية في نشر تقرير إقليمي يتعامل بشكل حصري مع حالة الحرية الاقتصادية في العالم العربي. يتمثل الهدف من هذا التقرير في التوثيق التطبيقي لمدى التقدم في حالة الحرية الاقتصادية أو الافتقار إليه في هذه المنطقة من العالم. في تقرير هذه السنة تحتل البحرين مركز الصدارة تليها الكويت ثم لبنان، بينما تحركت مصر إلى أعلى بحيث تأتي في المرتبة التاسعة. أما الجزائر وسوريا وموريتانيا وتونس فقد تبين مجيئها في المراتب الدنيا للحرية الاقتصادية بين البلدان العربية وفقاً لهذا المسح.

وعلى الرغم من تحسن مراتب بعض البلدان العربية على مدار السنين، كما هو الحال في مصر، فإن البيانات توضح أيضاً أنه عند عقد المقارنة الدولية يعتبر تطور الحرية الاقتصادية في العالم العربي راكداً بعض الشيء. وفي عالم الأعمال والتجارة الآخذ في التحول نحو العولمة يعد هذا عاملاً هاماً. قد يكمن أحد تفسيرات هذا التراجع في نوعية الحكم الرشيد (أو الافتقار إليه) في العالم العربي، وذلك وفق ما أورده المشاركون بفعاليات مؤتمر القاهرة.

أوضح فريد ماكماهون من معهد فريزر قائلاً: "سيادة القانون هي البنية التحتية للحرية الاقتصادية." أثناء النقاش التالي اتضح أن هذا العنصر بالذات به بعض المشكلات بالعالم العربي. وعلى الرغم من أن المؤتمر انصب تركيزه على الإصلاحات الاقتصادية، وأن معظم النقاش دار حول البيانات والإحصاءات الخاصة بالاقتصاد الكلي، فإن المشاركين المصريين الكثيرين ممن حضروا المؤتمر بدا أنهم يقرون بأن الاقتصاد والسياسة لا يمكن، بل لا يجب، أن ينفصلا. فقد جاء على لسان أحد المشاركين قوله: "الإصلاح السياسي ضروري. لا يمكن أن تتحقق الحرية الاقتصادية إن لم نتمتع بالحرية السياسية."

"تقرير الحرية الاقتصادية بالعالم العربي" لسنة 2010 متاح على الموقع الآتي على شبكة الإنترنت:

http://www.scribd.com/fnfcairo

* الدكتور رونالد مايناردوس المدير الإقليمي لمؤسسة فريدريش ناومان من أجل الحرية بالشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، القاهرة.

الرجوع للأعلى
 
القائمة الرئيسية
 
 
www.fnst-egypt.org: مؤسسة فريدريش ناومن..من أجل الحرية - مصر

Main Menu
 
 

 Liberal Library


Library Archive
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Discussing Economic (and also Political) Freedom in Cairo

By Ronald Meinardus *

This year, we are celebrating the twentieth anniversary of the unification of Germany. Apart from bringing unity and freedom to the people of that country, this epochal event also symbolizes more than anything else the end of the global confrontation between what was then the East and the West. This conflict came to a close with a convincing victory of the liberal paradigm.

Since then, most nations of East and South East Europe have been transformed into politically democratic countries that follow the principles of the market economy in their developmental strategies. The ideological triumph of the liberal paradigm some two decades ago was so pervasive that some even hastened to argue that mankind had reached "the end of history". While not surprisingly this rash assumption has been proven false and "unhistorical" on more than one occasion, the fall of communism, undoubtedly, remains an epochal event with implications and lessons for many other parts of the world.

I was reminded of all this while listening to the presentation of a Polish professor at the Fifth Economic Freedom of the Arab World conference held in Cairo in early November. In his paper titled "Reform Maps of Eastern Europe: Have the Roads to Prosperity Passed Through the Lands of Economic Freedom?" Prof. Andrzej Kondratowicz presented data showing the enormous increases in income in the Eastern European countries over the past years – and this has happened across the board. While social problems persist, the Eastern European societies have moved up in a truly impressive manner. The key to this improvement, the Polish scholar argued, has been deep running "institutional change". In most Eastern European countries these changes have been driven by the desire of the governments to join the European Union, which typically has made accession dependant on compliance with strict economic as well as political criteria. Importantly, Prof. Konratowicz added, those Eastern countries that have seen the greatest developmental leaps are those which today exhibit the highest scores in international statistics measuring economic freedom: Estonia, Slovak Republic, Hungary and Lithuania.

The Eastern European experience substantiates the main assumption of the Economic Freedom Index. This annual report published in Canada by the Fraser Institute asserts – and documents in an empirical manner – the correlation between the degree of economic freedom and development. The message is straight forward: The more economic freedom a country has, the more growth it records. The Index measures the degree of economic freedom in five distinct areas: size of government, legal structure and property rights, access to sound money, freedom of exchange with foreigners and, lastly, regulation of credit, labor and business. On a global level, the countries on the top of the index are also the richest countries, while the poorest nations find themselves at the bottom: Leading the list in 2010 are economic "superstars" Hong Kong, Singapore, New Zealand, Switzerland and Chile, while at the bottom of the table we find Zimbabwe, Myanmar, Angola and Venezuela.

Over the past three years, the Foundation I head in the Middle East and Northern Africa has partnered with the Fraser Institute of Canada and the International Research Foundation of Oman in publishing a regional report dealing exclusively with the state of economic freedom in the Arab world. Our objective is to document in an empirical manner the advancement – or the lack of it - of economic freedom in this part of the world. In this year’s report, once more, Bahrain is ranked first followed by Kuwait and Lebanon. Egypt moved up and now holds position nine. Algeria, Syria, Mauritania and Tunisia were found to have the lowest levels of economic freedom among the Arab nations in the survey.

While some Arab countries have improved their rankings over the years, Egypt being a case in point, the data also show that in an international comparison the development of economic freedom in the Arab world has been more or less stagnant. In a business world that is increasingly globalized, this is an important factor. One explanation for the hold-up may be found in the quality of governance (or the lack of it) in the Arab world, said conference participants in Cairo.

"The rule of law is the infrastructure of economic freedom" explained Fred McMahon of the Fraser Institute. In the ensuing debates it became clear that in this regard not all is well in the Arab world. While the focus of the conference was economic reform and the bulk of the discussions dealt with macroeconomic data and statistics, particularly the many Egyptian participants seemed to concur that economics and politics could not – and should not – be separated. Said one participant: "Political reform is essential. No way will economic freedom come if we do not have political freedom".

The 2010 Economic Freedom Report of the Arab World Report is available online at: http://www.scribd.com/fnfcairo

* Dr. Ronald Meinardus is the Regional Director of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty (FNF) for the Middle East and North Africa, Cairo.

Back to top
 
Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty in Egypt : www.fnst-egypt.org