المكتبة الليبرالية 


أرشيف المكتبة
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
المستقبل المصري

بقلم رونالد مايناردوس


أحد تعريفات مصطلح السياسة هو "مناقشة وتطبيق قرارات متعلقة بمستقبل المجتمع". تتأثر عملية صنع القرار السياسي بعدد غير قليل من العوامل والمصالح المتضاربة والرؤى غير المتوافقة، وهو ما يؤدي عادة إلى عدم القدرة على اتخاذ قرارات إستراتيجية واضحة.

التنبؤ بالمستقبل الاقتصادي والسياسي هو مهنة المحللين. أولئك المحللون عادة ما يكونون خبراء حاصلين على قدر من التدريب في مجالاتهم، إلا أنهم ليسوا بأنبياء – لذا فهم يعتمدون في صنع توقعاتهم للمستقبل على قراءاتهم للماضي. لا يفهم المرء المستقبل دون معرفته بالماضي.

رغم مقتي للتنميط، إلا أني أستطيع – مطمئنــًا – القول بأن المصريين هم شعب يميل للتفاؤل، فلا يكاد أي نقاش حول المستقبل المصري يخلو من عبارة "الغد سيكون أفضل من الأمس". تفاؤل يشعرني بالدهشة الشديدة خاصة مع النظر إلى التجربة المصرية بأكملها وما مر به الشعب المصري. فالتفاؤل على ما يبدو هو أحد مكونات الروح الوطنية المصرية والتي يغذيها الإيمان بأن كل ما يقدمه الخالق العظيم هو بالضرورة خير. على العكس من ذلك، في المجتمعات الغربية شديدة العلمانية لا نجد مثل تلك الروح المتفائلة سائدة كون عدد المؤمنين هناك أقل بكثير.

تتسم المناقشات الدائرة حول المستقبل السياسي لمصر بالتركيز على النظرة قصيرة الأمد، ولا تتجاوز آفاق المتحاورين الأيام أو الأسابيع أو الشهور، ونادرًا ما تتجاوز ذلك لتصل لأعوام أو عقود. تعيش مصر – من الناحية السياسية – في عالم لحظي، عالم الحاضر: هنا والآن. ويختلف ذلك تمامــًا عن واقع المناظرات السياسية في بلادي – ألمانيا – حيث يتعاطى الجيل الحالي من السياسيين بمنتهى الجدية مع تحديات الأجيال القادمة. ذلك المنظور المتجاوز للأجيال – أو لنقل ذلك التضامن مع الأجيال القادمة – نراه من خلال القرارات الخاصة بالصحة وسياسات المعاشات والبيئة والإجراءات المتبناة لتقليص العجز المتضخم في الموازنة. تلك هي أمثلة قليلة لأولويات سياسية مستقبلية أو طويلة الأجل تدور حولها المعارك الانتخابية، وتنتهي – من أجلها – بالفوز أو الخسارة.

مثل تلك الأولويات غائبة عن الواقع المصري، والمنظور السياسي هنا يركز بشكل أساسي على الأمد القريب. فالشغل الشاغل اليوم هو تعديل الدستور: الساسة يصوغون الإطار القانوني للبلاد خلف الأبواب المغلقة، والرفاق على المقاهي منشغلون بمن هو الزعيم القادم. ذلك الترتيب للأولويات يعكس حقيقة أنه بالنسبة للكثيرين قد لا يكون النص الدستوري بتلك الأهمية، وأن ما يهم بنهاية الأمر هو اسم الشخص الموجود على رأس السلطة. قد يكون من التعالي أن نلوم على الناس عدم اهتمامهم بالأحاديث الدستورية حول الحريات والعدالة الاجتماعية والمساواة – فخبراتهم الحياتية تختلف شديد الاختلاف عن الصياغات السياسية المنمقة.

وفي هذا الشأن فإن تعاطي اللجنة السياسية قد يكون شديد الصلة – وأتمنى ألا يؤخذ كلامي على غير محمله. فالنتائج سيكون لها عظيم الأثر حتى على المشهد السياسي للمستقبل المصري القريب. أساسيات قانون الانتخابات لن تقتصر على تحديد مستقبل النظام الحزبي المصري، بل ستؤثر أيضــًا في تركيبة البرلمان القادم. شكل نظام الحكم ومدى سيطرة الرئيس سيحددان ما إذا كان وزير الدفاع الحالي (معشوق الكثيرين) سيلقي بقبعته إلى الحلبة أم لا. ولا يتوقع المحللون أن ينخرط الفريق السيسي في المنافسة على المنصب الأعلى ما لم يمنحه الدستور القادم سلطات كاسحة.

لقد ذكرت آنفــًا أن القدرة الجيدة على التوقع بالمستقبل تتوقف على مدى المعرفة بالماضي. تلك الصلة بين الماضي والمستقبل تسري على الحكومات والمجتمعات بل وحتى الأمم، فجميعهم لن ينجحوا في إدارة المستقبل ما لم يكونوا قادرين على التصالح مع الماضي.

يمتلئ الماضي السياسي المصري القريب بالاضطرابات والصراعات المؤلمة والدموية. وكما هو الحال دائمــًا في المعارك يوجد فائزون وخاسرون. لا يمكن للوحدة الوطنية أن تبنى إلا على أساس عملية سياسية شاملة، لن تتأتى إلا من خلال وفاق سياسي كشرط أساسي. أحد أهم مكونات عملية التعافي الوطني الجمعي هو التصالح مع الماضي، وبشكل قانوني. لقد تعافت مجتمعات في أرجاء كثيرة من العالم بعد أن مزقتها الصراعات من خلال التطبيق الناجع للعدالة الانتقالية ومجهودات أخرى للتغلب على جراح الماضي. إن غياب الثقافة السياسية للتوافق هو واحد من أهم وأخطر التحديات التي تعانيها مصر وتعيقها عن التعاطي مع المستقبل. يتفق الجميع حول وجوب إيجاد حلول للمشكلات المتفاقمة في الوطن، إلا أنه لا أحد يرى أبعد من ذلك.

لا نزال نفتقر إلى المجهودات المتضافرة والرؤية الوطنية – وفوقها جميعا – إرادة سياسية معلنة. كيف سيكون حال البلاد بعد عشر أو عشرون أو حتى خمسون عامــًا؟ تلك هي نوعية المناظرات التي نحتاجها. التوقع الوحيد الموثوق الذي لا أنفك أستمع له هو أنه بحلول عام 2050 – حيث سيكون الجزء الأكبر من الأجيال المصرية الصغيرة حاضرًا – سينفجر تعداد سكان مصر ليصل إلى 150 مليون نسمة. مثل ذلك التوقع هو مادة خصبة لأنبياء وعرافي يوم القيامة والذين يخشون أن المشكلات المصرية قد تصل أبعادًا وتعقيدات تتجاوز حدود القدرة على السيطرة والإدارة. أولئك يتوقعون المزيد من الإفقار وثورات الجياع والفوضى، والتي لن يكون لها حل سياسي سوى حكم ديكتاتوري قاسي. سأجادل بأن ذلك السيناريو هو الأكثر سوادًا وقتامه في بورصة الآراء السياسية، وكوني متفائلا بطبعي فسأنأى بنفسي عن تلك المدرسة الفكرية. إلا أن بقاء مثل ذلك السيناريو القاتم لائحــًا في الأفق (كأحد التوقعات المتشائمة للمستقبل) يتوقف على ضرورة تبني تعديلات سياسية جذرية وهيكلية الآن وفورًا. والمشكلة المصرية هي أن تلك الخطوات الجذرية لا تبدو لها أية بشائر في الأفق.


هذه المقالة نشرت بصحيفة الديلي نيوز المصرية بتاريخ 17 نوفمبر 2013

* الدكتور رونالد مايناردوس المدير الإقليمي لمؤسسة فريدريش ناومان من أجل الحرية بالشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، القاهرة.

Twitter @Meinardus

الرجوع للأعلى
 
القائمة الرئيسية
 
 
www.fnst-egypt.org: مؤسسة فريدريش ناومن..من أجل الحرية - مصر

Main Menu
 
 

 Liberal Library


Library Archive
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Egypt's Future

By Ronald Meinardus *

An apt definition of politics is the discussion and implementation of decisions related to the future of society. The political decision making process is influenced by myriad factors, conflicting interests and inconsistent perspectives thereby frequently impeding clear strategic choices.

Predicting the political and economic future is the realm of analysts. As these usually well trained specialists are not prophets they rely for the projections of the future on their readings of the past. One will not understand the future without knowing the past.

While I abhor stereotypes I feel safe to say that Egyptians tend to be optimistic people. Rarely discussions here about the future do not include the phrase that tomorrow will be better than yesterday. Considering what most people have been through – Egypt's collective experience – I find this hopefulness astonishing. Obviously, optimism is an ingredient of the Egyptian national psyche; it is nurtured by the belief in the Almighty who – so God will – sees to it that all things come to a good end. In many highly secular societies of the West, there is no such basic optimism simply because far less people believe in God.

Debates about the political future of Egypt tend to focus on the short-term. The horizon of the discussants is days, weeks, months, but rarely years or decades. Politically, Egypt is an instant world, a place of the here and now. This is very different from the political debates in Germany, where I come from and where today's generation of politicians deal seriously with the challenges of the next generations: This generational perspective, or solidarity, is reflected in political decisions regarding health and pension policies, the environment or measures to curtail ballooning budget deficits, to name just few of the long term and future oriented policy priorities over which elections are fought - and won or lost.

None of this in Egypt, here the focus of the political perspective is near-term. Today, the overriding issue is the amendment of the constitution. The politicians are defining behind closed doors the legal framework of the nation; at the same time, the folks in the coffee shops are more concerned who will be the next leader. This prioritization reflects the experience of many that the text of the constitution may not be that important after all, and that in the end it is the person at the top who counts much more. It would be arrogant to blame the people for not paying too much attention to the constitutional talk about freedom, social justice and equality – their life experience has been very different from the well sounding political phraseology.

Don't get me wrong. The dealings of the constitutional committee are of great relevance. The results will have considerable impact on also the short term future of Egypt's political landscape. The basics of the election law will determine not only the future of the party system but to a certain extent also the composition of the next parliament. The layout of the governmental system – and with it the extent of the dominance of the president – will determine whether the present Defense Secretary (and very many people's favorite) will throw his hat into the ring or not. Analysts do not expect general Al-Sissi to contend for the top job should the new constitution not give him sweeping powers.

We stated earlier that good predictions of the future depend on knowledge of the past. This link of past and future holds true for governments, societies, even nations also. Collectively, they will not succeed in mastering the future if it they don't come to terms with their past.

Egypt's more recent political past is riveted with turbulences, painful and bloody struggles. As always, there haven been winners and losers. National unity can only be built on the basis of an inclusive political system. For this to materialize political compromise is an essential condition. One component of this process of collective national healing is to get to terms with the past also in a legal way. Transitional justice and other efforts to overcome the injuries of the past have successfully been applied in conflict stricken societies in many parts of the world.

The lack of a political culture of compromise may well be among the most serious challenges Egypt is facing to confront her future. Everybody seems to agree that the country must find solutions for colossal problems. But beyond that little is visible. A united effort, a national vision and, on top of it all, a declared political will are in demand. What should the country look like in ten, twenty or fifty years? I am missing such debates. The only seemingly reliable projection I have heard repeatedly is that by 2050 – a horizon the big mass of young Egyptians will be around to experience – Egypt's population will have exploded to 150 million. This projection is material for foreign doomsday prophets who fear Egypt's problems have reached dimensions and complexities beyond control and management. They predict more impoverishment, hunger revolts, chaos and as a political answer to all this harsh dictatorial rule. Arguably, this is the bleakest of all the bleak scenarios available in the market place of opinions. As an optimist by nature, I stay away from this school of thought. However, for the bleak scenario to remain what it is (a dark projection of the future), radical and structural political adjustments need to be taken now. The problem for Egypt is that such drastic steps are no where to be seen.

* Dr. Ronald Meinardus is the Regional Director of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty. Twitter @Meinardus

Published in Daily News Egypt on November 17, 2013
Back to top

 
Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty in Egypt : www.fnst-egypt.org