المكتبة الليبرالية 


أرشيف المكتبة
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
أفكار ليبرالية في تاريخ الفكر العربي

بقلم رونالد مايناردوس


من بين الامتيازات التي أحظى بها لعملي بالبرنامج الدولي لمؤسسة فريدريش ناومان من أجل الحرية هذه الفرص العديدة التي تتيح لي إمكانية الالتقاء بمنظمات ليبرالية من شتى بقاع الأرض، وبالعديد من الأفراد الليبراليين من خلفيات قومية وثقافية ودينية متنوعة. ويتمثل الضمان الأدوم الذي ينبعث من هذه المقابلات في كون الأفكار والقناعات الليبرالية القائلة بأن تأمين حرية الفرد أفضل من الافتقار إليها لا تقتصر على جزء من العالم أو من الثقافة دون غيره. بل على العكس فإن الرغبة في تحقيق الحرية الشخصية مطلب عالمي.

يتباين حجم الحركة الليبرالية وأثرها من مكان لآخر نظراً لعدد من العوامل. فعلى خلفية السياق السياسي ربما يُنظر إلى القوى الليبرالية في العالم العربي بوصفها ضعيفة ومحصورة. والليبراليون في هذه المنطقة تواجههم تحديات لا حصر لها، وفي الكثير من الأحيان تتصل هذه باتهامات باطلة وادعاءات، فمن بين المقولات النمطية الشائعة تلك التي توحي بأن الأفكار الليبرالية لا تتسق مع الثقافة العربية ولا الإسلام. ولكن ما يثير السخرية أن فرضية عدم اتساق القيم الليبرالية (أي الغربية) مع القيم الإسلامية (أي العربية) من الفرضيات التي يُروج لها المفكرون الغربيون الكبار الذين يقولون بأن "صدام الحضارات" لا مفر منه.

العدد الأكبر من العرب في الوقت الحالي لم يحظ سوى بقدر محدود من التعرض للظروف الليبرالية، لأنهم نشأوا ويعيشون في بيئة مختلفة تماماً. ففي معظم أنحاء الشرق الأوسط تتمثل التجربة "الملموسة" الوحيدة لليبرالية في "تحرير الاقتصاد". ولكن في العديد من الحالات فشلت إصلاحات السوق المعلنة في تحسين الظروف المعيشية التي تظل أدنى بكثير من توقعات الجماهير. واليوم يُلقي المصريون باللوم على "إصلاح السوق" عند الحديث عن الفساد والمحسوبية المتفشية. وهم لا يستطيعون – أو لا يرغبون – استيعاب أن الفشل لم يأت من نظام السوق، بل السبب الرئيس وراء غياب حركة الثروة "من أعلى لأسفل" متمثل في الافتقار إلى سيادة القانون والمحاسبة والمساءلة، ألا وهي الشروط الأساسية التي لا بد من توافرها في الأسواق لكي تنطلق قوتها المفيدة بحرية.

ليس من باب التهويل أن نقول أن الليبرالية تعاني من سوء السمعة في العالم العربي. إذ يتعلق هذا الأمر بقدر كبير بالسياسات الدولية، ففي أكثر من مناسبة ألحق سلوك القوى الخارجية الضرر بمفاهيم الديمقراطية والليبرالية (أو الديمقراطية الليبرالية)، فقد تدخلت القوى الغربية في المنطقة لنصرة مبادئ ديمقراطية وليبرالية لها ما لها من قدسية ثم بعد ذلك سلكت سلوكاً لا يتسق مع هذه المبادئ في حد ذاتها. وفي هذا الصدد نتذكر غزو العراق أو القضية الفلسطينية. وهي الأمثلة التي تخرج أثناء المناظرات السياسية على امتداد العالم العربي بوصفها مثالاً على المعايير المزدوجة التي يتعامل الغرب بها. ولكن هذا ليس بجديد، فالاستعمار الغربي لشعوب المنطقة لطخ صورة المستعمرين، بل والأفكار التي كانوا يتبنونها. فمع ادعائهم بالترويج للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان (على الرغم من أنهم فعلوا هذا تدريجياً) ، كانوا في الواقع يحكمون بأسلوب غير ليبرالي تماماً.

تواجه القيم والمبادئ الليبرالية اليوم هجوماً من جوانب مختلفة في العالم العربي. ولهذا من المفيد أن نستدعي هذه الجذور الفكرية التي تتمتع بها تلك الأفكار في هذه المنطقة. ومما استرعى انتباهي عند مراجعتي لكتاب نحن بصدد نشره هنا بالقاهرة تحت عنوان "الليبرالية في تاريخ الفكر العربي"، أن هذه المبادئ والقيم تمتعت بدرجة من الشعبية الكبيرة بين المفكرين السياسيين العرب في القرن التاسع عشر وبداية القرن العشرين. إن فكرة الليبرالية العربية تضرب بجذورها في تاريخ الفكر بالمنطقة وتمتعت بسيادة فيما مضى بالخطاب العام، وهي بهذا أبعد ما تكون عن مجرد مشروع سياسي معاصر، على حد قول المستعرب الألماني كليمنز ريكر، الذي كرس حياته الأكاديمية لدراسة الفلسفة السياسية العربية. من خلال الكتاب يوثِّق ريكر مقتطفات من كتابات مفكرين سياسيين مصريين كبار تعبر عن رسائل سياسية قوية. ومن بين الاقتباسات المفضلة لي تلك التي تأتي من أحمد لطفي السيد المفكر المصري الشهير الذي توفي سنة 1963 ووصف بأن مهندس العلمانية والليبرالية المصرية ويقول فيها "الإنسان يحفظ حرية فكره ومشاعره وحريته الطبيعية حتى ولو كان في غيابة السجون... خُلق الإنسان حراً، حر الإرادة، وحر الاختيارات." وفيما يتصل بالقضية الكبرى المتمثلة في حقوق المرأة يقتبس ريكر من محمد عبده أحد الإصلاحيين المصريين المسلمين الكبار قوله الذي أتى به سنة 1905 قبل وفاته بوقت قليل: "حسن! إن كانوا يخشون الفتنة من النساء غير المنتقبات، فلم لا يؤمر الرجال بتغطية وجههم؟"

انطلقت النهضة العربية التي تنتمي إليها هذه الكتابات في طريق إصلاحي حمل العديد من الأفكار الليبرالية. وسعى الكثير من المفكرين الذين لم يخش البعض منهم الدخول في مجال النشاط السياسي إلى تحرير مجتمعاتهم من الاستبداد الأجنبي والداخلي على حد سواء. فقد نادوا بسمو الحرية بوصفها غاية في حد ذاتها، بل والأهم من هذا بوصفها وسيلة لتحديث بلدانهم. وفي كتابه الأخير بعنوان "الفكر الليبرالي في شرق البحر المتوسط: نهاية القرن التاسع عشر حتى الستينيات من القرن العشرين" يؤيد كريستوف شومان هذا الموقف ويقول: "ليس هناك من شك أن الأفكار الليبرالية كانت مؤثرة، بل ومهيمنة (في العالم العربي) ... وأن هذا التأثير تبخر في وقت ما في منتصف القرن العشرين." وفي العادة يُعزى انحسار الليبرالية إلى ازدهار القومية العربة وإعادة أسلمة المجتمع.

كان الفكر الليبرالي وطموحاته رد فعل للظروف غير الليبرالية. وكان هذا هو الوضع القائم في الماضي وهو الوضع الذي يمكن حتى رصده في الوقت الحالي: وعند الأخذ في الاعتبار الحالة غير الليبرالية للأمور السائدة في قطاع كبير من العالم العربي ليس من المدهش أن يتصاعد مد الفكر والكتابات الليبرالية مرة أخرى.

وفي هذا السياق تعد الكتابات الليبرالية الأصلية من الماضي هامة. حيث يفند مجرد وجودها الادعاء القائل بأن الفكر الليبرالي منبعه أجنبي وغير إسلامي. وأنا مقتنع بأن الأفكار (والسياسية) الليبرالية لا يمكن فرضها من الخارج. ويجب على الرجال والنساء من أصحاب الفكر الليبرالي أن يتكاتفوا مع بعضه البعض وأن يتولوا تطوير نماذج ومفاهيم وبرامج ليبرالية خاصة بهم حتى تزدهر الليبرالية. ويمكنهم النظر إلى ماضيهم حتى يتمكنوا من العثور على حافز ودليل فكري يسترشدوا به.

* دكتور رونالد مايناردوس المدير الإقليمي لمؤسسة فريدريش ناومان من أجل الحرية بالقاهرة.


(هذه المقالة تم نشرها بجريدة الدستور يوم الثلاثاء السابع من سبتمبر عام 2010)

 
القائمة الرئيسية
 
 
www.fnst-egypt.org: مؤسسة فريدريش ناومن..من أجل الحرية - مصر

Main Menu
 
 

 Liberal Library


Library Archive
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Liberal Ideas in Arab History of Thought

By Ronald Meinardus *

One of the privileges of working in the international program of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty are the many opportunities to meet liberal organizations from all parts of the world and liberal individuals of different national, cultural and religious backgrounds. The most lasting assurance I have taken from these many encounters has been that liberal ideas and the conviction that personal freedom is better than a lack of it are not confined to one part of the world or one culture. On the contrary, the desire for personal freedom is universal.

Size and impact of the liberal movement vary from one place to another depending on various factors. In an international context, the liberal forces in the Arab world may be termed weak and with their back to the wall. Liberals here are confronted with myriad challenges. Frequently these are related to false accusations and allegations: An often-heard stereotype suggests liberal ideas are not compatible with Arab culture or Islam. Ironically, the assumption of the non-compatibility of liberal (=Western) and Islamic (=Arab) values is also propagated by influential Western thinkers who argue that a "Clash of civilizations" is unavoidable.

Most Arabs today have at best a limited exposure to liberal conditions as they grow up and live in a very different environment. In most parts of the Middle East, the only "tangible" experience with liberalism is "economic liberalization". In many cases, however, the declared market reforms have failed to improve the living conditions and remained far below the expectations of the masses. Today, many Egyptians blame "market reforms" for the perceived wide-spread corruption and nepotism. They are not able - or not willing – to appreciate that it is not the market system that has failed but that the main reason for the absent "trickle-down" of wealth is the lack of the rule of law and accountability. These are essential preconditions for the markets to set free their beneficial power.

To say that liberalism has an image problem in the Arab world is no understatement. This, to a considerable degree, has to do also with international politics: On more than one occasion the conduct of outside powers has damaged the concepts of democracy and liberalism (or liberal democracy); Western powers have intervened in the region advocating hallowed liberal and democratic principles and have then behaved in a manner not compatible with those very principles. The invasion of Iraq comes to mind or the Palestinian question. In political debates throughout the Arab world these cases are mentioned as examples of Western double standards. This is not new: Historically, Western colonialism in the region has tainted not only the image of the colonizers but also the ideas they espoused. While they claimed to promote democracy and human rights (albeit gradually), on the ground, they ruled in a profoundly illiberal manner.

Today, liberal values and principles are under attack from various sides in the Arab world. It is, therefore, useful to recall the intellectual roots these ideas have in the region. That these were much in fashion among Arab political thinkers in the nineteenth and early twentieth century, became apparent to me as I reviewed the book "Liberalism in the Arab History of Thought" which we are preparing for publication in Cairo. "Far from being only a contemporary political project, the idea of Arab liberalism has deep roots in the region’s history of thought and was once prevalent in the public discourse", writes Clemens Recker, a German Arabist who has dedicated his academic life to the study of Arab political philosophy. Recker documents excerpts of writings of mainly Egyptian political thinkers that convey strong liberal messages. "Man preserves his freedom of thought and feelings and his natural liberty, even in the depth of a prison…He was created free, free in his will, free in his choices", is one of my favourite quotes from Ahmad Lutfi Al-Sayyid, the famous Egyptian intellectual who died in 1963 and has been described as an architect of Egyptian secularism and liberalism. On the big issue of women’s rights, Recker cites Muhammad Abduh, also an Egyptian and one of the most prominent Muslim reformers before he died 1905: "Well then, if they fear temptation from unveiled women, why aren’t men ordered to cover their faces?"

The Arab Nahda, which these writings are part of, embarked on a reformist path that carried many liberal ideas. The thinkers, some of whom did not shy away from entering active politics, aimed at liberating their societies from foreign and also home grown despotism. They advocated the supremacy of freedom as both an end in itself and, importantly, also a way to modernize their countries.

In the recent book "Liberal Thought in the Eastern Mediterranean. Late 19th century until the 1960s" Christoph Schumann supports this position and writes: "There can be no doubt that liberal ideas were influential, if not hegemonic (in the Arab world) … and that this influence evaporated at some point in the middle of the twentieth century". Rising Arab nationalism and the Re-Islamization of society are often mentioned as the main reasons for the liberal decline.

Liberal thinking and aspirations have always been a reaction to illiberal conditions. This has been the case in the past and may also be observed today: Considering the illiberal state of affairs prevailing in large parts of the Arab world it is no surprise that, once more, liberal thinking and writing are on the rise.

In this context the indigenous liberal writings of former times are important. Their mere existence refutes the claim that liberal thinking is foreign-inspired and un-Islamic. I am convinced that liberal ideas (and politics) cannot be imposed from outside. For liberalism to flourish in the Arab world, liberally minded men and women must join hands and develop their own – Arab – paradigms, concepts and programs. They may look to their own past to find intellectual stimulation and guidance.

* Dr. Ronald Meinardus is the Regional Director of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty in Cairo. You may reach the writer at Ronald.Meinardus@fnst.org.

(Published in The Daily News Egypt, Cairo, September 2, 2010)

Back to top
 
Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Liberty in Egypt : www.fnst-egypt.org